Fair Housing Implementation Council

Contact us

The ad hoc Fair Housing Implementation Council (FHIC) was established in 2002 to coordinate efforts of its participating members to comply with their obligations to affirmatively further fair housing throughout the Twin Cities metro housing market area. Funding members administer federal Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) and HOME Investment Partnerships Program (HOME) funding, as well as other Fair Housing programs which require them to certify to HUD that they will affirmatively further fair housing through the operation of their housing and community development programs as well as fair housing activities to overcome impediments. The FHIC also has representation by a number of area-wide agencies and organizations interested in affirmatively furthering fair housing.

Funding members of the FHIC include the counties of Anoka, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey and Washington; the Metro HRA (Metropolitan Council); the Community Development Agencies of Scott and Carver Counties; and the cities of Bloomington, Eden Prairie, Minneapolis, Minnetonka, Plymouth, Coon Rapids, Saint Paul and Woodbury.

Housing Justice Center report

The Housing Justice Center has recently completed a report to the Fair Housing Implementation Council concerning housing displacement prevention while maintaining quality and affordable housing. The report covers:

  • Preserving affordability of NOAH (naturally occurring affordable housing).
  • Redevelopment and displacement.
  • Manufactured home parks just cause evictions.

Read the full report (PDF)

Addendum to the 2014-2019 Regional Analysis of Impediments to Fair Housing

The FHIC contracted with Mosaic Community Planning, LLC to conduct an Addendum to the FHIC’s 2014 Regional Analysis of Impediments to Fair Housing (AI Addendum). The Addendum specifically addresses housing discrimination, gentrification and displacement, barriers to housing choice, and the conditions of segregation and integration in the seven-county area that includes Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott and Washington Counties in Minnesota.

This fair housing planning is required of communities that receive certain funds from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.

Written comments were accepted March 1 through April 3, 2017. Several public meetings were held throughout the metro area March 14, 15 and 16.​ All documents are in PDF format.